Print

Major Pack Series 1958-1967

Major Pack Series 1958-1967

Major Pack Series 1958-1967

The "Major Pack" series was introduced in late 1958 und lasted untill 1966 when the remaining models were converted into the "King Size" range.

At the end of the 50`s several larger models which could not be integrated into the standard 1-75 range anymore were developed, for these the new "Major Pack" series was introduced in late 1958. In the beginning the scale was similar to those used for the 1-75 series but later these "Major" models got bigger and bigger and eventually all remaining models ( except the M- 9 ) were transferred into the "King Size" range in 1966. To avoid confusion all models in this range had the prefix "M" preceding the model number.


M1A Caterpillar Earth Scraper + M1B "BP" Petrol Tanker

The first "Major Pack" model, the M1A Caterpillar Earth Mover, produced between 1958 and 1961.

The first "Major Pack" model was the Caterpillar Earth Mover, introduced in late 1958. Always painted in the correct Caterpillar yellow and unusually for the time fitted with steel hubs and seperate black plastic tyres. Early models were still having crimped axles, later models had rounded axles.

M1B "BP" Autotanker, based on a Leyland built prototype from 1959.

The Major Pack M1B "BP" tanker car was the first model which replaced an older model, in this case the M1A Earth Scraper. This futuristic looking model is based on an Leyland prototype which was only 1 x built and never went into production. Always painted in the "BP" colors of yellow & green with "BP" decals to the sides there are not many variations on this model. Production period was from May 1962 until the end of Major Pack Series in 1966.

M2A Bedford Ice Cream Truck + M2B Bedford Truck & Freightmaster Trailer

M2A Bedford Articulated Walls Truck "Walls Ice Cream", produced 1958-1960.

The second "Major Pack" model, the M2A Bedford Articulated Truck in "Walls Ice Cream" livery. Introduced in late 1958 and in production untill 1960. The cab was always painted light blue, the trailer can be found in cream on early models and white on later versions. Early models are fitted with metal wheels, later issues with grey plastic wheels.

M2B Bedford Tractor & York Freightmaster Trailer, an attractive replacement for the outdated M2A Bedford Ice Cream Lorry.

The M2B Bedford Tractor & Trailer Master Freight York replaced the outdated M2A Bedford Articulated Truck in march 1962, now much larger and a modern Bedford cab. There were two different main versions: the first model appeared with orange cab and an metallic silver trailer with "Davies Tyres" livery, in 1964 the color scheme was changed to a metallic silver truck with dark red metallic trailer and "LEP International Transport" livery. This model had lots of wheel variations over the years. The model stayed in production until the end of the Major Pack range in 1966.

M3A Thornycraft Tank Transporter & Centurion Tank

M3A Thornycraft Antar with Sankey 50ton Tank Transporter loaded with an Centurion Mk. III Tank.

A fantastic military model, the impressive M3A Thornycraft Tank Transporter with an Centurion tank as load. This model was a good supplement to the military models produced in the 1-75 series. Always painted in military olive-green, early models found with crimped axles, later issues with rounded. This was one of the longest running Major Pack models beeing produced untill 1965.

M4A Ruston Bucyrus + M4B GMC Truck & Hopper Train

M4A Ruston Bucyrus Excavator, produced between 1959 and 1964.

The M4A Ruston Bucrus Excavator was a model of what is in real life an very large and impressie excavator. Always painted in the correct colours of maroon for the body/engine housing, yellow shovel and cab base and a black baseplate. Decorated with transfers at both sides and the rear.

The M4B Fruehauf Hopper Train, the largest model ever released in the Major Pack series.

The M4B Fruehauf Hopper Train was a great model with very high play value. Issued in march 1965 and replacing the old A4 Excavator it should have been part of the King Size range but was issued as a Major Pack. Featuring a dark maroon cab with two metallic silver-grey Hopper trailers which had small red "Fruehauf" labels placed on the sides. With the demise of the Major packs this model was transferred to the King Size range retaining it's number ( now "K"-4 ) and colour scheme.

M5A Massey Ferguson Harvester

M5A Massey Ferguson 780 Combine Harvester, a very detailled model of a Combine and the first model of Farm machinery.

The Major Pack M5A Massey Ferguson 780 Combine Harvester is a very detailled model and the first large piece of farm machinery issued by Lesney. Always painted in the correct "Massey Ferguson red" and fitted with silver plastic wheels in the beginning, later replaced with orange or the rarer yellow plastic hubs with black tyres. This model was produced between late 1959 and the end of the Major Pack series in 1966.

M6A Pickford 200 ton Transporter + M6B Racing Transporter

M6A Scammel 6 x 6 Tractor & Crane 200ton Transporter "Pickfords", the longest model produced by Lesney at that time and still impressive today.

Major Pack M6A, the impressive Scammell 200 ton Transporter was a "must have" for every jung road haulier. This model was able to carry nearly every model made by Lesney back then but was a perfect fit for carrying the M4 Ruston Bucyrus Excavator. Painted in maroon and dark blue in the beginning these coulors got brigther over the years with the later (and harder to find) issues are painted in bright red and blue. Always decorated with "Pickford's" decals the model was in production from 1960 to 1966.

M7A Cattle Truck

M7A Thames Trader Cattle Truck, the 2nd. farm related vehicle in the range.

The Major Pack M7A Thames Trader Cattle Truck was the second farm related vehicle in the range, introduced in 1960 and in production untill 1965. Always in the same colour scheme with a red painted cab and a pale tan trailer on earlier issues and an darker tan trailer on later versions. The pale tan trailer has the rear door painted in the body colour, the darker tan version has the rear door painted red. The models were fitted with grey and later black plastic wheels.

M8A Mobilgas Tanker + M8B Guy Warrior Car Transporter

The M8A Thornycraft 2400 gallon Petrol Tanker in "Mobilgas" livery, a truly classic 50's Petrol Tanker in a well known livery.

The M8A Thornycraft Petrol Tanker is a classic british tanker from the 50's in the very popular "Mobilgas" livery. Always painted in red and decorated with "Mobilgas" decals nearly all models were fitted with grey plastic wheels, making the version with black wheels quite rare. A rather short production era from 1961 to 1963 only.

The M8B Guy Warrior Car Transporter was replacing the outdated A2 Car Transporter in 1964 and was extremly succesful.

After the old A2 Car Transporter from the 50s was getting to small for most new models in the 1-75 series finally in April 1964 a larger, more powerful successor, the M8 Guy Warrior Car Transporter became available. Turquoise green tractor, orange trailer with "Farnborough Measham / Car Auction & Collection" inscription on the sides. This model was a huge seller. After the end of the Major Pack serie in 1966 this model was taken over into the King Size range in the same colour scheme, the baseplate inscription was simply changed to "K-8".

M9A Interstate Double Freighter

The M9 Hendrickson Tractor & Interstate Double Freigter is still one of the most popular models for Matchbox and Major Pack collectors today.

The M9 Hendrickson Tractor & Interstate Double Freigter was liked by every boy, a fantastic model of an American long-haul truck. Released in May 1962, always with dark blue truck and metallic silver trailers there were two different "Cooper Jarrett Inc." decals on the sides, first in yellow and from 1965 on with an orange background. As the trailers were all identical it was possible through the coupling of additional trailers to make incredibly long road trains. That was the last model offered by Lesney in the Major Pack range, it was the only "M"-series model still available in 1967.

M10A Dinkum Dumper

M10A Whitlock Dinkum Dumper, a large rear tipper for construction sites.

The Whitlock Dinkum Dumper M10A, a rear tipper for construction sites, appeared in September 1962 and was the model with the highest number that has been used in the Major Pack range. Always painted in yellow with a black "Whitlock D-D 70" decal on the sides there are only 2 variations: early models have unpainted metal wheels with black tires, the later issues have red plastic wheels with black tires. The model was in production until the end of the Major Pack series in 1966.

Drucken

Major Pack Series 1958-1967

Major Pack Series 1958-1967

Major Pack Series 1958-1967

Die Major Packs wurden 1958 eingeführt da einige Modelle einfach zu groß für die normale 1 - 75 Serie wurden und sich in solch einem kleinen Maßstab nicht mehr detailliert genug darstellen ließen. Später entwickelte sich daraus eine erfolgreiche eigenständige Serie. Diese Modelle werden heute ebenso intensiv gesammelt wie die "normalen" 1 - 75 Regular Wheel Modelle. Als 1965 die Major Pack Modelle langsam die Größe der King Size Modelle erreicht hatten wurde die Serie beendet und die meisten noch produzierten Modelle in die K-Serie übernommen.


M1A Caterpillar Earth Scraper + M1B "BP" Petrol Tanker

Das erste "Major Pack" Modell, der M1A Caterpillar Earth Mover.

Das erste "Major Pack" Modell war der Caterpillar Earth Mover, erschienen Ende 1958. Das Modell war vorbildgerecht immer in Caterpillar gelb lackiert und hatte damals für Lesney Verhältnisse ungewöhnlich Stahlfelgen mit seperat aufgesetzten Reifen. Frühe Modelle haben noch gekniffene Achsen, späte ab Ende 1959 dann runde Achsen.

M1B "BP" Tanker, basierend auf einem Leyland Prototyp von 1959.de Achsen.er, produziert von 1958 bis 1961.

Der Major Pack M1B "BP" Autotanker war das erste Modell welches ein älteres Modell ablöste, in diesem Fall den M1A Earth Scraper. Das futuristisch anmutene Modell basiert auf einem nur 1 x von Leyland gebautem Prototyp welcher nie in Serie ging. Immer in den "BP" Farben gelb & grün mit seitlicher "BP" Beschriftung lackiert gibt es bei diesem Modell nicht viele Varianten. Produktionszeitraum war von Mai 1962 bis zum Ende der Major Pack Serie 1966.

M2A Bedford Ice Cream Truck + M2B Bedford Truck & Freightmaster Trailer

M2A Bedford Articulated Walls Truck "Walls Ice Cream" 1958-1960.

Der zweite Major Pack, erhältlich ab Ende 1958 war der Bedford Articulated Truck mit "Walls Ice Cream" Beschriftung. Die Zugmaschine war immer hellblau, der Anhänger zuerst in creme und später in weiß lackiert. Zuerst erschienen mit Metallrädern wurden später auch graue Plastikräder verwendet. Ein sehr attraktives Modell.

M2B Bedford Tractor & York Freightmaster Trailer, an attraktives Modell das den veralteten M2A Bedford ablöste.

Der M2B Bedford Tractor & York Freightmaster Trailer löste im März 1962 den veralteten M2A Bedford Articulated Truck ab, jetzt deutlich größer und mit moderner Bedford Zugmaschine. Es gab zwei verschiedene Ausführungen: zuerst erschien das Modell mit oranger Zugmaschine, silbernem Auflieger und "Davies Tyres" Beschriftung, 1964 wurde das Farbschema geändert in silberne Zugmaschine mit dunkelrot metallicfarbenem Auflieger und "LEP International Transport" Beschriftung. Bei diesem Modell gibt es viele Radvarianten für alle jene die nach Varianten suchen. Das Modell wude bis zum Ender der Major Pack Serie in 1966 produziert.

M3A Thornycraft Tank Transporter & Centurion Tank

M3A Thornycraft Antar mit Sankey 50ton Tank Transporter und Centurion Mk. III Tank als Ladegut.

Ein tolles Militärmodell, der imposante M3A Thornycraft Tank Transporter mit einem Centurion Panzer als Ladegut. Dieses Modell passte vom Maßstab her genau zu den Militärmodellen der 1-75 Serie. Immer in militärgrün lackiert, frühe Modelle noch mit gekniffenen Achsen, ab 1960 dann mit runden Achsen. Das Modell wurde bis 1965 produziert.

M4A Ruston Bucyrus + M4B GMC Truck & Hopper Train

M4A Ruston Bucyrus Excavator, toller Großbagger, hergestellt von 1959 bis 1964.

Der M4A Ruston Bucyrus Excavator war ein tolles Modell eines in Wirklichkeit riesigen Großbaggers. Das Gehäuse war vorbildgerecht in dunkelrotbraun lackiert, das Chassis und der Ausleger in gelb, die Bodenplatte war schwarz. Dekoriert war das Modell mit Abziehbildern seitlich und am Heck.

Der M4B Fruehauf Hopper Train, das größte Modell der Major Pack Serie.

Der M4B Fruehauf Hopper Train war ein tolles Modell mir hohem Spielwert das im März 1965 erschien und den alten A4 Excavator ablöste. Das Modell hätte eigentlich wegen der Größe gleich in die King Size Serie gehört wurde aber noch als Major Pack vorgestellt. Die dunkelweinrote Zugmaschine zog zwei silberne Schüttguttransporter mit seitlichen "Fruehauf" Aufklebern. Als die Major Pack Serie 1966 eingestellt wurde hat man dieses Modell unter der gleichen Nummer und in der gleichen Farbgebung in die King Size Serie überführt.

M5A Massey Ferguson Harvester

M5A Massey Ferguson 780 Combine Harvester, tolles vorbildgerechtes Modell eines Mähdreschers.

Der Major Pack M5A Massey Ferguson Combine Harvester war ein sehr detailliertes Modell welches von Ende 1959 bis 1966 produziert wurde. Immer in korrektem "Massey Harris" rot lackiert, anfangs mit silbernen Plastikfelgen, später mit orangen und seltener gelben Plastikfelgen mit schwarzen Reifen. Das Modell wurde bis zur Einstellung der Serie 1966 produziert.

M6A Pickford 200 ton Transporter + M6B Racing Transporter

M6A Scammel 6 x 6 Tractor & crane 200ton Transporter "Pickfords". Das bis dato längste Lesney Modell das auch heute noch was hermacht.

Der M6A Scammell 200 Tonnen Transporter war der Traum eines jeden Jung-Spediteurs damals. Ein tolles Modell das so ziemlich jedes Lesney Modell der damaligen Zeit laden konnte. Anfangs in dunkelrotbraun und dunkelblau lackiert wurden diese Farben im Laufe der Zeit immer heller, die (schwerer zu findenen) späten Modelle sind in kräftigem rot und blau gehalten. Das Modell war immer mit der Berschriftung der Spedition "Pickfords" versehen. Produziert von 1960 bis 1966.

 

M7A Cattle Truck

M7A Thames Trader Cattle Truck / Viehtransporter, das 2. Landwirtschaftsmodell in der Serie.

Der Major Pack M7A Thames Trader Cattle Truck war das 2. Landwirtschaftsmodell in der "M"-Serie, ein Viehtransporter. Das Modell hatte immer das gleiche Farbschema, rote Zugmaschine, brauner Anhänger ( erst hellbraun, spätere Modelle sind in einem dunklerem Braunton gehalten ) mit Anfangs grauen, später schwarzen Plastikrädern. Bei den früheren Modellen ist die Heckklappe in Wagenfarbe lackiert, später war sie dann rot. Das Model wurde von 1960 bis 1965 produziert.

M8A Mobilgas Tanker + M8B Guy Warrior Car Transporter

Der M8A Thornycraft 2400 gallon "Mobilgas" Petrol Tanker, ein klassischer 50iger Jahre Tankwagen.

Der M8A Thornycraft Petrol Tanker ist ein klassischer britischer 50iger Jahre Tankwagen mit einer damals sehr weit verbreiteten Beschriftung der Tankfirma "Mobilgas". Das Modell war immer in rot lackiert und immer mit "Mobilgas" beschriftet. Fast ausschließlich mit grauen Plastikrädern bestückt sind Modelle mit schwarzen Rädern recht selten. Der Produktionszeitraum war relativ kurz von 1961 bis 1963.

Der M8B Guy Warrior Car Transporter löste 1964 den alten A2 Car Transporter ab und war extrem erfolgreich.

Nachdem der alte A2 Car Transporter aus den 50igern für die meisten neuen Modelle in der 1-75 Serie zu klein wurde gab es im April 1964 endlich einen größeren, leistungsfähigeren Nachfolger, den M8 Guy Warrior Car Transporter. Türkisgrüne Zugmaschine, oranger Anhänger mit "Farnborough Measham & Car Auction Collection" Beschriftung an den Seiten. Dieses Modell war ein riesiger Verkaufsschlager. Nach dem Ende der Major Pack Serie 1966 wurde dieses Modell in der gleichen Farbgebung in die King Size Serie übernommen, die Bodenplattenbeschriftung wurde einfach in "K-8" geändert.

M9A Interstate Double Freighter

Der M9A Hendrickson Tractor & Interstate Double Freigter ist bis heute eines der beliebtesten Modelle für Matchbox & Major Pack Sammler.

Den M9 Hendrickson Tractor & Interstate Double Freigter mochte jeder Junge, ein fantastisches Modell eines amerikanischen Langstrecken Trucks. Erschienen im Mai 1962, immer mit dunkelblauer Zugmaschine und metallic silbernen Aufliegern gab es zwei verschiedene "Cooper Jarrett Inc." Abziehbilder an den Seiten: zuerst in gelb, ab 1965 mit orangem Hintergrund. Dadurch das die Auflieger identisch waren ließen sich durch das Ankoppeln weiterer Auflieger ellenlange Züge zusammenstellen. Das Modell war das letzte von Lesney angebotene Major Pack Modell, es wurde als einzigstes "M"-Serien Modell noch 1967 angeboten.

M10A Dinkum Dumper

Baustellen Hinterkipper, erschienen im September 1962.

Der M10A Whitlock Dinkum Dumper, ein Hinterkipper für Großbaustellen, erschien im September 1962 und war das Modell mit der höchsten Major Pack Nummer die vergeben wurde. Immer in Gelb lackiert mit einem schwarzen "Whitlock D-D 70" Abziehbild an den Seiten gab es nur 2 Varianten: frühe Modelle haben unlackierte Metallfelgen mit schwarzen Reifen, die späteren Modell rote Plastikfelgen mit schwarzen Reifen. Das Modell war bis zur Einstellung der Major Pack Serie im Jahr 1966 in Produktion.